April 1, 2020

The Town of Vernon is following public health advice and guidance from local, state and federal agencies to take precautionary and preparatory measures to limit the local impact of COVID-19 (coronavirus).

The Town is implementing and strongly recommending social distancing as a key tool to prevent and limit the spread of COVID-19 in our community. To achieve this goal, the office will remain open, but closed to the general public. The staff may be reached by phone at (812)346-7438 and arrangements may be made to conduct any business as necessary. Utility bill payments may be made either at the drop box located at Town Hall or you may also make payments at German American Bank in North Vernon.

All Vernon facilities, including the gym and playground equipment will be closed to the general public until further notice.

All Town meetings are suspended until further notice.

Vernon is a town in Vernon Township, Jennings County, Indiana, United States. As of the 2010 census, the town population was 318. As the county seat of Jennings County, it is the smallest town with that designation in the state of Indiana. It is nearly surrounded by the Muscatatuck River. Vernon has the only elected mayor of a town in the state of Indiana and the only elected town marshal. Dan Wright is Mayor and Britt Burgmeier is the Marshal.

The town is on the National Register of Historic Places, ►Original Inventory-Nomination Form
and is the host of many firsts in the state.

• The first area set aside for use as a public playground in Indiana, The Commons, is located in Vernon.
• The first elevated railroad overpass west of the Alleghenies.
• The state's first all women jury.
• The first Disciples of Christ church in Indiana.
It was also the home of Indiana's fourth state park, now called Muscatatuck County Park.